Hearthstone Is Getting Three 130 Card Expansions

Blizzard has announced their plans for Hearthstone for this year. This year, Blizzard isn’t going to focus on Adventure and instead will be focusing on new 130 card expansions.

“At their core, Adventures paint colorful and thematic stories about the Hearthstone universe. Imagine being able to learn about the history and lore behind each of our sets inside the game in a similar way,” Blizzard explains. “Defining who the Jade Lotus are through a series of battles between the Mean Streets of Gadgetzan families would have been a great way to supplement the overall Gadgetzan story arc.

“That concept is something we would like to do more of in future sets: Take the storytelling and cool missions of Adventures, and combine them with the card pools of expansions.”

Blizzard also wants to shuffle some cards around. Blizzard plans to move several cards from the classic set to a new Hall of Fame set, meaning that they will only be available in the Wild format.

“When cards show up too frequently in decks and are considered auto-includes, deck-building becomes more limited,” the developer added. “Deck variety stagnates, potentially interesting build-around cards fall by the wayside, and the gameplay experience begins to feel less dynamic. Most cards should feel like situational additions to a deck, depending on the deck archetype the player is trying to build.

“To help meet our goals, certain cards from the Classic set will become exclusive to the Wild format. These cards will be added to the new Hall of Fame set, which will also include cards that are currently in the Reward set.”

Here are the cards that are moving to Wild Format:

Neutral Cards

  • Azure Drake
  • Sylvanas Windrunner
  • Ragnaros the Firelord

Class Cards

  • Power Overwhelming
  • Ice Lance
  • Conceal

Once these changes go live, players will get the full dust value back of any cards that have been placed in the Hall of Fame set. Blizzard also announced that they will be offering daily login rewards leading up to the start of the Year of the Mammoth that will include dust, gold, and expansion packs.

Lastly, a new Rogue hero will be joining the fray. To unlock Maiev Shadowsong, players have to win 10 games in ranked or casual mode after the next expansion launches.





More Stories
Everything You Need to Know About the Xbox One’s Kinect!